The Niece

The niece is growing up too fast. Fortunately, she makes a wonderful subject for practicing shooting people in action, because she never stops moving. These photos were taken with natural light.

DSC_0706

DSC_0712

DSC_0792


I really like the last two photos. In the first shot she looks very much like her mother. The poor kid has cameras in her face all the time between my brother and I, and we’ve talked about how she’s not always comfortable about that. I find that when I get into a certain mindset while taking photos, it’s easy to get lost in the technical aspects and ignore that your subjects are actual people and not merely objects reflecting light in interesting ways. It’s also interesting that she seems to naturally strike poses for the camera, and frankly, I’m a little reluctant to publish too many pictures of her online. I

DSC_0755

DSC_0741

2 thoughts on “The Niece

Leave a Reply

