Dark Winter: The Creepy House Project

A few months back I saw a wonderful picture of an abandoned house on top of a hill. The clouds were dynamically lit from behind, giving the entire scene a surreal, spooky quality. As soon as I saw that picture I knew I had to try similar for myself!

This winter has been extremely wet in the PNW with record rainfall. The good side is that there has been plenty of days with wonderfully brooding storm clouds. Over the past few weeks I’ve been sneaking out between rain showers to take pictures of local abandoned houses. Using an HDR process, I’ve been playing with creating surreal, moody photos. I have found that rather than using three bracketed-exposure photos, these seem to turn out better using one photo and adjusting three light levels from the original. Perhaps it’s just the nature of the particular editing software I’m using.

 

Leave a Reply

